

2021 Southern Regional Meeting

AWARD RECIPIENTS

AFMR Henry Christian Award

Mohammed Alsaggaf, Ochsner Health System, King Abdulaziz University Arya Mariam Roy, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Malinda Wu, Emory University School of Medicine, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta

Cardiovascular Case Report Award

Mostafa Abohelwa, Texas Tech University System Marie Bulathsinghala, LSU Health Sciences Center Mohamed El-Farra, University of California Riverside William Kogler, University of Florida College of Medicine- Jacksonville Mark Lewis, University of Mississippi Medical Center Philip Sobash, White River Medical Center

Nathan Solomon & Irene Oransky-Solomon Award

Herman Odens, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center Jacob Pruett, University of Mississippi Medical Center

SAFMR/SSCI Junior Faculty Research Award

Aleli Campbell, University of Texas El Paso Antoine Chaanine, Tulane University School of Medicine Yusuke Higashi, Tulane University School of Medicine Alexander Philipovskiy, Texas Tech University Health Science Center Manavjot Sidhu, Methodist Health System Zanthia Wiley, Emory University School of Medicine, Emory Healthcare Tadashi Yoshida, Tulane University

SAFMR/SSCI Student Research Award

Patrick Boddie, University of Mississippi Medical Center Michael Craig, University of Tennessee Health Science Center Edgard Cruz, University of Tennessee Health Science Center Macy Cummins, University of Mississippi Medical Center Fatima El-Ghazali, University of Washington Ali Esmaeili, Ochsner Health System Daniel Gottlieb, Tulane University Marah Hamdan, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Carl Haupt, Ochsner Health System Vivian Jaber, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center John Paul Khouzam, University of Notre Dame College of Science Alla Kozubenko, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, University of Washington Xinyi Luo, The University of Queensland Ochsner Faculty of Medicine, Ochsner Health System Matthew McMullan, University of Mississippi Medical Center Khoa Nguyen, Tulane University School of Medicine Emily Pemberton, Tulane University School of Medicine Owen Richfield, Tulane University School of Science and Engineering

Award

Namrata Shivaprakash, California University of Science and Medicine, Riverside University Health System Patricia Snarski, Tulane University Madilyn Tomaso, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine Huntsville Aayush Visaria, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School Joseph Walker, Ochsner Health System

SAFMR/SSCI Trainee Research Award

John Abdelmalek, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Ashwin Ajith, Georgia Cancer Center Felix Aponte Santos, Universidad de Puerto Rico Escuela de Medicina Ryan Coultas, University of Florida Health Science Center Jacksonville Mohamed Elmassry, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Marcus Juan Esteban, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Farshid Etaee, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Gian Galura, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Arsalan Hamid, University of Mississippi Medical Center Usman Hasnie, University of Alabama at Birmingham Randa Hazam, Texas Tech University Health Science Center Nicholas Helmstetter, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Naoki Iwanaga, Tulane University Prarthana Jain, Medical University of South Carolina M Ammar Kalas, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Shoaib Khan, White River Medical Center Radia Ksayer, Tulane University Naji Maaliki, University of Florida Health at Jacksonville General Medicine Jonathan Martinez, Hospital Municipio de San Juan Miguel Maturana, University of Tennessee Health Science Center Hemendra Mhadgut, East Tennessee State University Sebastian Mikulic, University of Florida Health at Jacksonville Arunee Motes, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Kandasamy Neelamegam, Tulane University School of Medicine Ina Nikolli, Tulane University Alex Niu, Tulane University School of Medicine Adebamike Oshunbade, University of Mississippi Medical Center Jasmine Padgett, University of Mississippi Medical Center Khalid Pasha, Lenox Hill Hospital Ronak Patel, Ochsner Health System Ellen Petryna, University of Tennessee Health Science Center Iennifer Pham. Ochsner Health System Jennifer Prevot, Emory University School of Medicine Khalid Sawalha, White River Health System Layal Sayegh, Emory University School of Medicine Tanya Sharma, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Jessica Simon, Ochsner Health System Juliana Sitta, University of Mississippi Medical Center Alan Sun, Dwight David Eisenhower Army Medical Center Saria Tasnim, Texas Tech University Health Science Center, Amarillo Akesh Thomas, East Tennessee State University James H Quillen College of Medicine Vipin Varghese, Ochsner Health System Aditi Varma-Doyle, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Myrian Vinan Vega, Texas Tech University Health Science Center

SSCI Nephrology Young Investigator Scholar Award

Faisal Abdulameer, University of Tennessee Health Science Center Masood Ahmad, University of Alabama Ivan Claudio-Gonzalez, Emory University School of Medicine Ana Paula Leite, Tulane University School of Medicine Sitarama Arvind Varma Mudunuru, Emory University Arun Rajasekaran, University of Alabama at Birmingham Terrance Wickman, Ochsner Health System

SSCI Young Investigator Award

Barbara Mantilla, Texas Tech University

SSCI Young Investigator Award for General Internal Medicine

Thomas E. Strayer III, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

SSPR Basic Science Young Investigator Award Finalists

Faeq Al-Mudares, Baylor College of Medicine Nilesh Dankhara, University of Mississippi Ahmed Elsaie, Baylor College of Medicine

SSPR Clinical Science Young Investigator Award Finalists

Edward Florez, University of Mississippi Medical Center Joan Lien, University of Tennessee Health Science Center Elizabeth Sewell, Emory University School of Medicine, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta Egleston Hospital