AAMC Names Members to Financial Conflicts of Interest Task Force

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) on March 29 announced the names of the members of its Task Force on Financial Conflicts of Interest in Clinical Research. Its mission is to study and revamp AAMC's current guidelines on conflict of interest.

The 28-member task force consists of clinical researchers, patient representatives, university officials, industry leaders, attorneys, ethicists, and journalists. It is chaired by William Danforth, MD, Chancellor Emeritus and Vice Chair of the Board of Trust, Washington University. The plan to organize the task force was first made public last November by AAMC President Jordan Cohen at the association's annual meeting. The group hopes to accomplish its goals in the next 2 years.

TASK FORCE MEMBERS

Chair

William Danforth, MD, Chancellor Emeritus and Vice-Chairman Board of Trust, Washington University

Academic Leadership

- Russel E. Kaufman, MD, Vice Dean, Education and Academic Affairs, Duke University School of Medicine
- Robert P. Kelch, MD, Dean, University of Iowa College of Medicine Mark R. Laret, CEO, University of California, San Francisco, Medical Center
- Joseph B. Martin, MD, PhD, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
- Edward D. Miller, MD, Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, CEO, Johns Hopkins Medicine
- Paul G. Ramsey, MD, Vice President, Medical Affairs, Dean, School of Medicine, University of Washington

Researchers

- John Thomas Bigger, MD, Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, Columbia University
- Ronald Levy, MD, Professor, School of Medicine, Stanford University
- Charles P. O'Brien, MD, PhD, Chief of Psychiatry, Philadelphia VA Medical Center, Vice Chair of Psychiatry, University of Pennsylvania
- Savio Woo, PhD, Director and Professor, Institute for Gene Therapy, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
- *Alastair J.J. Wood, MD,* Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research, Professor of Medicine, Professor of Pharmacology, Division of Pharmacology, Departments of Medicine and Pharmacology, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Attorneys

- Susan H. Ehringhaus, Esq, Vice Chancellor and General Counsel, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- Joan S. Leonard, Esq, Vice President and General Counsel, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
- Dorothy K. Robinson, Esq, Vice President and General Counsel, Yale University

Ethicists

- Jeffrey Kahn, PhD, MPH, Director, Center for Bioethics, University of Minnesota
- Thomas H. Murray, PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Hastings Center

Industry

Ginger Graham, Group Chairman, Guidant Corporation

- Susan Hellmann, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer, Genentech
- Roger Porter, MD, Vice President Clinical Research and Development, Wyeth-Ayerst Research

Journalists/Media

Frank Davidoff, MD, Editor, Annals of Internal Medicine

Susan Dentzer, NewsHour with Jim Lehrer

- *Marvin Kalb*, Lecturer in Public Policy, Executive Director, Washington Office, Joan Shorenstein Center for the Press, Politics and Public Policy, Trustees for Harvard University
- Hedrick Smith, President, Hedrick Smith Productions, Inc.

Public/Patient Representatives

Martin J. Delane, Founding Director, Project Inform

Constance E. Lieber, President, National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression

Hon. John E. Porter, Esq, Partner, Hogan and Hartson, LLP

Frances M. Visco, Esq, President, The National Breast Cancer Coalition