# 2014 Combined Annual Meeting Renaissance Blackstone Hotel-Chicago April 24–25, 2014

All sessions jointly presented by

# CENTRAL SOCIETY FOR CLINICAL AND TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH (CSCTR) MIDWESTERN SECTION AMERICAN FEDERATION FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH (MWAFMR)

Thursday, April 24, 2014 11:30am–4:30pm CSCTR Council Meeting

# MWAFMR Career Development Workshop 1:00pm – 4:00pm

"Negotiation & Conflict Management" Steven R. Howe, PhD Professor & Head of Psychology University of Cincinnati Cincinnati, OH

"Creating Mentoring Networks" Ellen Seely, MD Vice Chair, Faculty Development Brigham & Women's Hospital Boston, MA

4:00pm – 4:30pm CSCTR Annual Business Meeting

5:00pm – 7:00pm Welcome Reception & Poster Session

7:00pm – 9:00pm CSCTR Sugar Club/Midwest Metabolism Max Miller Lecture in Diabetes Research Guest Lecture by Sam Dagogo-Jack, MD MB BS MSc FRCP FACP FACE Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Director, General Clinical Research Center University of Tennessee Health Science Center Memphis, TN

DOI: 10.231/JIM.000000000000078

# 7:00pm – 9:00pm Management of Chronic Diseases Keynote Presentation

Management of Chronic Lung Disease **Michael J. Welsh, MD** Professor of Internal Medicine - Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Iowa City, IA

## Supporting Presentations by

Management of Chronic Autoimmune Disease – Lupus Brad H. Rovin, MD Director, Division of Nephrology The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Columbus, OH

Management and Assessment of Heart Failure – Cardiovascular Elizabeth McNally, MD PhD

A. J. Carlson Professor of Medicine and Human Genetics Director, Institute for Cardiovascular Research Director, Cardiovascular Genetics Clinic The University of Chicago Medicine Chicago, IL All sessions jointly presented by

## CENTRAL SOCIETY FOR CLINICAL AND TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH (CSCTR) MIDWESTERN SECTION AMERICAN FEDERATION FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH (MWAFMR)

Friday, April 25, 2014 7:30am – 8:30am Mentor Breakfast

#### 8:30am – 9:30am MWAFMR Keynote Presentation *Stanley Hazen, MD PhD*

The Jan Bleeksma Chair in Vascular Cell Biology and Atherosclerosis The Leonard Krieger Chair in Preventive Cardiology Director, Center for Cardiovascular Diagnostics & Prevention Section Head, Preventive Cardiology & Rehabilitation Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute Cleveland. OH

## 9:30am – 10:30am Department Chair Session I Rush University Medical Center Chicago, IL Antonio Bianco, MD PhD Vice Chair of Internal Medicine Division Chief of Endocrinology

10:30am – 11:30am Department Chair Session II

## Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN Morie A. Gertz, MD Department Chair of Internal Medicine

## 11:30am – 12:30pm Poster Session & Lunch

#### 12:30pm – 1:30pm CSCTR Hickam Lecture

Presentation by: **Howard J. Jacob, PhD** Professor, Physiology and Human and Molecular Genetics Medical College of Wisconsin Milwaukee, WI

#### 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Translational Research – Featured New Investigator Lecture Boris Betz, MD Research Fellow, Medical Research Council Centre for Inflammation Research University of Edinburgh (Scotland)

> 2:00pm – 3:00pm Oral Abstract Presentations I

> 2:00pm – 3:00pm Oral Abstract Presentations II

> > 3:00pm – 4:00pm Closing Poster Session

4:00pm – 5:00pm MWAFMR Scholars Program Reception

#### CENTRAL SOCIETY FOR CLINICAL AND TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL MEMBERS

**President** Jordan P. Metcalf, MD Oklahoma City, OK

Vice-President Ellen McCarthy, MD Kansas City, KS

Timothy B. Niewold, MD Rochester, MN

Debra Romberger, MD Omaha, NE Past President Neal L. Weintraub, MD Cincinnati, OH

Editor – *Translational Research* Jeffrey Laurence, MD New York, NY

> Councilors A. Brent Carter, MD Iowa City, IA

Brad H. Rovin, MD Cincinnati, OH President-Elect Roy E. Weiss, MD PhD Chicago, IL

Secretary-Treasurer Terry G. Unterman, MD Chicago, IL

Roy Silverstein, MD Milwaukee, WI

Abraham Thomas, MD MPH Detroit, MI

 $\ensuremath{\mathbb{C}}$  2014 The American Federation for Medical Research

## MIDWESTERN SECTION AMERICAN FEDERATION FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH COUNCIL MEMBERS

Chair

Carmella Evans-Molina, MD PhD Indianapolis, IN

Suthat Liangpunsakul, MD MPH

Indianapolis, IN

Vijay Shivaswamy, MBBS MS

Omaha, NE

Chair-Elect Florence Rothenberg, MS MD Cincinnati, OH Secretary-Treasurer Armand A. Krikorian, MD FACE Cleveland, OH

**Past-Chair** Kieren J. Mather, MD Indianapolis, IN

Councilors Mark A. Belike, MD Milwaukee, WI

Dawn B. Davis, MD PhD Madison, WI

Richard R. Watkins, MD MS FACP Akron, OH