

# **Congratulations to the AFMR Award Recipients from the**

Western Medical Research Conference & Southern Regional Meeting.

For more information and full details, visit afmr.org/western and afmr.org/southern

WAFMR/WSPR Joint Western Medical Research Conference | January 29-30, 2021

## AFMR Henry Christian Award Recipient



Smooth Muscle Cell PIEZO1 in Small Bowel Contractility and Growth

Geoanna Bautista University of California Los Angeles

# WAFMR Subspecialty Award Recipients

Neuroscience I SUPEROTEMPORAL RETINAL AMYLOID IMAGING SIGNALS PATHOLOGIC NEURODEGENERATION AND MEMORY **DEFICITS IN SUBJECTS WITH COGNITIVE** DECLINE

Tania Torbati

Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Immunology and Rheumatology NOVEL CORONA VIRUS PANDEMIC- 2019 AND PATIENT EXPERIENCE COMPARING TELEMEDICINE WITH CONVENTIONAL CUNIC VISIT IN PATIENTS WITH JUVENUE **IDIOAPTHIC ARTHRITIS AND CHILDHOOD** SYSTEMIC LUPUS ERYTHEMATOSUS Theodore Gross

Valley Children's Hospital

Infectious Diseases I **RE-EMERGENCE OF ARBOVIRUS DISEASES** IN THE STATE OF RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL 2014-2019 Olivia Man University of California Los Angeles David Geffen School of Medicine

Hematology and Oncology CDK8-MEDIATOR COMPLEX PLAYS POSITIVE TRANSCRIPTIONAL ROLE IN MYC-AMPLIFIED MEDULLOBLASTOMA Caitlin Ritz

University of Colorado

## Surgery I SIMULATION OF POST-PROCEDURAL COMPRESSION ON AUTOLOGOUS FAT **GRAFTS: A PILOT STUDY** Hannah Peterson Loma Linda University School of Medicine

**Pulmonary and Critical Care** HYPERGLYCEMIA AND HYPOGLYCEMIA CONTRIBUTIONS TO ACUTE RESPIRATORY DISTRESS SYNDROME Ionathan Repine University of Colorado

Cardiovascular I CARDIAC SODIUM/CALCIUM EXCHANGER IS NECESSARY FOR NORMAL ATRIOVENTRICULAR NODE FUNCTION Adina Hazan Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

COVID - Infectious Diseases II FEFECTS OF COVID-19 ON MORBIDITY AMONGST PATIENTS WITH PRE-EXISTING ASTHMA IN THE CENTRAL VALLEY DURING THE EARLY PANDEMIC Amitoi Sinah University of California San Francisco

COVID - Infectious Diseases II INCORRECT FACE MASK USE AND POTENTIAL COVID-19 EXPOSURES IN PUBLIC LOCATIONS Dana Button Oregon Health & Science University

Cardiovsacular, Nephrology and Hypertension AGE-SPECIFIC ASSOCIATION BETWEEN STANDING HEIGHT AND PULSE PRESSURE IN ADULTS Pranay Maniar New Jersey Institute of Technology

Endocrinology and Metabolism II AN INVESTIGATION OF DIET QUALITY AND HYPOTHALAMIC GLIOSIS IN CHILDHOOD OBESITY Sarah Kee University of Washington

# Southern Regional Meeting | February 25-27, 2021

# **AFMR Henry Christian Award Recipients**



Mohammed Alsaggaf, Ochsner Health System, King Abdulaziz University Arya Mariam Roy, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Malinda Wu, Emory University School of Medicine, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta

#### SAFMR/SSCI Junior Faculty Research Award

Aleli Campbell Antoine Chagnine Yusuke Hiaashi Alexander Philipovskiy

#### SAEMR/SSCI Student Research Award

Patrick Boddie Michael Craig Edgard Cruz Macy Cummins Fatima El-Ghazali Ali Esmaeili

### SAFMR/SSCI Trainee Research Award

John Abdelmalek Ashwin Aiith Felix Aponte Santos Ryan Coultas Mohamed Elmassry Marcus Juan Esteban **Earshid** Etgee Gian Galura Arsalan Hamid Usman Hasnie Randa Hazam

# SSCI/SAFMR Presidential Poster of Distinction

Lorry Aitkens Pablo Altieri Ankur Aneia Martha Arrieta Kelsey Baab

Manavjot Sidhu Zanthia Wiley Tadashi Yoshida

Daniel Gottlieb Marah Hamdan Carl Haupt Vivian Jaber John Paul Khouzam Alla Kozubenko

Nicholas Helmstetter Naoki Iwanaga Prarthana Jain M Ammar Kalas Shogib Khan Radia Ksayer Naji Maaliki Jonathan Martinez Miquel Maturana Hemendra Mhadgut Sebastian Mikulic

Brandon Bunch Asra Butt Krisha Desai Austin Jones Saved Reshad Ghafouri

Xinvi Luo Matthew McMullan Khoa Nauven **Emily Pemberton** Owen Richfield Namrata Shivaprakash

Arunee Motes Kandasamy Neelameaam lna Nikolli Alex Niu Adebamike Oshunbade Jasmine Padgett Khalid Pasha Ronak Patel Ellen Petryna Jennifer Pham Jennifer Prevot

Sally McCluna Hemanth Nannapaneni Saihariharan Nedunchezhian Hao Nguyen Joel Raja

Patricia Snarski Madilyn Tomaso Aayush Visaria Joseph Walker

Khalid Sawalha Laval Sayeah Tanya Sharma Jessica Simon Iuliana Sitta Alan Sun Saria Tasnim Akesh Thomas Vipin Varahese Aditi Varma-Doyle Myrian Vinan Vega

Saniana Rao Shanna Rolfs Esha Singhal